Religion, Nature, Environmentalism, Culture and Ecology
  • Encyclopedia
  • Journal
  • About
  • Academic study of humans, ecology, environment, culture, technology and religion

    The International Society for the Study of
    Religion, Nature & Culture
    Celebrating its 10th Anniversary


    Sarah Pike (President)
    California State University, Chico (USA)
    Professor of Religious Studies
    Mark Peterson (President-Elect)
    University of Wisconsin - Washington County (USA)
    Professor of Philosophy
    Kristina Tiedje

    Université Lumière Lyon 2 (France)
    Associate Professor of Anthropology
    Evan Berry

    American University (USA)
    Associate Professor of Philosophy & Religion
    Co-Director, Ethics, Peace & Global Affairs MA Program
    Amanda Baugh
    (Member-at-Large & Awards Committee)

    California State University, Northridge (USA)
    Assistant Professor of Religious Studies
    Whitney Bauman

    Florida International University (USA)
    Assistant Professor of Religious Studies
    Anna M. Gade

    University of Wisconsin at Madison  (USA)
    Vilas Distinguished Achievement Professor
    the Nelson Institute for Environmental Studies
    David Haberman

    Indiana University, Bloomington (USA)
    Professor of Religious Studies
    Elaine Nogueira Godsey
    Department of Religion Studies, University of Johannesburg
    Postdoctoral Research Fellow
    Emma Tomalin

    Professor of Religion and Public Life
    The School of Philosophy, Religion and History of Science
    University of Leeds, UK
    Christopher Crews
    (Student Representative)

    New School (USA)
    Ph.D. student
    Amanda M. Nichols
    (Student Representative)

    University of Florida (USA)
    Ph.D. student
    Laura Hobgood
    (Past President 2012-2015)

    Southwestern University (USA)
    Professor of Religion
    BOARD 2016 - 2019

    Sarah Pike: President
    Mark Peterson: President-elect
    Kristina Tiedje: Treasurer
    Evan Berry : Secretary
    Amanda Baugh: At-Large-Member
    Whitney Bauman : At-Large-Member
    Anna M. Gade: At-Large-Member
    David Haberman: At-Large-Member
    Elaine Nogueira Godsey: At-Large-Member
    Emma Tomalin : At-Large-Member
    Laura Hobgood: At-Large-Members
    Lucas Johnston: Journal for the Study of Religion, Nature and Culture
    Christopher Crews : Student Representative

    Amanda M. Nichols : Student Representative
    Non-Voting Officers:
    Ipsita Chatterjea: Communications Director (2015 - )
    Adrian Ivahkiv: Awards Committee
    BOARD 2013 - 2016
    Laura Hobgood: President
    Sarah Pike: President-elect
    Mark Peterson: Treasurer
    Kristina Tiedje: Secretary
    Bron Taylor: Past President
    Rick Stepp: Social Sciences At-Large-Member
    Calvin Bernard: Natural Sciences At-Large-Member
    Isabel Mukonyora: At-Large-Member
    David Haberman: At-Large-Member
    Amanda Baugh: At-Large-Member
    Whitney Bauman: At-Large-Member
    Bernie Zahela: Student Representative
    Asebe Regassa Debelo: Student Representative,
    Outreach to Africa
    Non-Voting Officers:
    Jacob Jones: Communications Director (2011-2013)
    Tess Varner: Communications Director (2013-2014)
    Ipsita Chatterjea: Communications Director (2015 - )
    Adrian Ivahkiv: Awards Committee
    BOARD 2009 - 2012
    Kocku von Stuckrad: President (2009-2011)
    Laura Hobgood: President-elect (2009-2011) and
    President (2011-2012)
    Mark Peterson: Treasurer
    Kristina Tiedje: Social Science At-Large-Member (2009-2011) and
    Secretary (2011-2012)
    Sylvie Shaw: Secretary (2009-2011)
    Bron Taylor: Past President
    Forest Clingerman: At-Large-Member
    Lucas Johnston: Interdisciplinary At-Large-Member
    Rick Stepp: Natural Sciences At-Large-Member
    Robin Globus Wright: Student Representative
    Non-Voting Officers:
    Terry Terhaar: Executive Director (2009-2012)
    Adrian Ivakhiv: Awards Committee
    FOUNDING BOARD 2005 - 2009
    Bron Taylor: President
    Kocku von Stuckrad: President-elect
    Laura Hobgood: Treasurer
    Kristina Tiedje: Secretary
    Forrest Clingerman: Humanities At-Large-Member
    Nina Witoszek-Fitzpatrick: Social Sciences At-Large-Member
    Robin Wright: At-Large-Member
    Rick Stepp: Natural Sciences At-Large-Member
    Non-Voting Officers:
    Lucas Johnston: Interim Executive Director (2005-2007; Associate Director 2007-2009)
    Terry Terhaar : Executive Director (2007-2009)
    Mark Peterson: ISSRNC Nominations/Elections Committee
    Bron Taylor, 2005-2009

    Kocku von Stuckrad, 2009-2012

    Laura Hobgood, 2013-2016
    The ISSRNC wishes to acknowledge the following individuals who worked arduously toward the establishment of the Society by serving on its interim executive committee from September 2005 until the September 2006 elections:

    Luke Johnston (Executive Director)

    Bron Taylor (President)

    Kristina Tiedje (Secretary)

    Mark Wallace (At Large, Humanities)

    Kocku von Stuckrad (At Large, Social Science)

    Adrian Ivakhiv (At Large, Interdisciplinary)

    Robin Wright (Membership chair)

    Roger Gottlieb (Publications chair)

    Laura Hobgood (Program co-chair)

    Rick Stepp (Program co-chair)